Today (Thursday) we announced five new Trustee appointments at our Extraordinary General Meeting (EGM), following a far-reaching recruitment campaign.

The campaign focussed on bringing new and diverse experience from theatre practitioners, people who teach and write about Shakespeare, and those with experience of leading change and challenging thinking, to complement the skills of the existing RSC Board members.

The five new trustees join our Board for an initial three-year term and five-year term as RSC Governors. They are:

  • Andrew Miller, cultural consultant and broadcaster
  • Amanda Parker, Founder Director of Inc Arts UK
  • Winsome Pinnock, playwright
  • Justine Themen, theatre director and change maker
  • Ayanna Thompson, Regents Professor of English at Arizona State University
the five new trustees
The five new RSC Trustees. Clockwise from top left are Amanda Parker, Winsome Pinnock (centre), Ayanna Thompson, Andrew Miller and Justine Themen.

Our Chair Nigel Hugill said: "As we have moved through this pandemic, the Board has continued to lead the RSC commitment to be diverse, progressive, relevant and ambitious. These five new appointments are unequivocal demonstration of those commitments and they share with all our Board members terrific skills, great experience, enormous range, and unwavering enthusiasm. 

“The public recruitment campaign generated enormous interest with almost 350 applicants. So many exceptional candidates showing a passion for theatre, the arts and education by putting themselves forward is an inspiration in these testing times."

The five new trustees will work alongside current Board members, including: Nigel Hugill (Chair), Sir William Atkinson, Miranda Curtis, Gregory Doran, Catherine Mallyon, Genista McIntosh, Clare Reddington, James Shapiro, Mark Smith, Ian Squires, Mark Thompson, Liz Vernon, Lucy Williams.



You are in: About us