There can be no place for sexual harassment or abuse of power in our industry.

Joint Statement on the Theatre Industry 

Following the reports and allegations of the last two weeks, first in America and, more recently, closer to home, we have come together to make clear that there can be no place for sexual harassment or abuse of power in our industry. 

We salute the bravery of everyone who calls out this abusive behaviour. We support a theatre culture that empowers people to speak up: a culture where abuse of power is always challenged.  

We are committed to working together to ensure that theatre is a safe space for all, where everyone is respected and listened to. The Royal Court Theatre's Day of Action on Saturday 28 October is one important part of this process. Together, we are developing further ways to support people to speak up and to hold others to account. 

It is the responsibility of the industry to create and nurture a culture where unacceptable behaviour is swiftly challenged and addressed.  

We want to be absolutely clear and say again: there is no room for sexual harassment or abuse of power in the theatre. Everyone deserves to enjoy a happy, healthy and safe working environment. We will support you to speak out, and we will hear you when you do.

Statement from (in alphabetical order)

Almeida Theatre – Rupert Goold, Denise Wood
Ambassador Theatre Group - Mark Cornell and Michael Lynas
Arcola Theatre – Mehmet Ergen, Leyla Nazli, Ben Todd
Arts Theatre - Louis Hartshorn
Battersea Arts Centre – David Jubb
Barbican Theatre - Toni Racklin
Belgrade Theatre – Hamish Glen, Joanna Reid
Bridge Theatre – Nicholas Hytner, Nick Starr
Birmingham Hippodrome - Fiona Allan
Birmingham Repertory Theatre – Roxana Silbert and Stuart Rogers
Birmingham Stage Company - Neal Foster and Louise Eltringham
Bristol Old Vic – Tom Morris, Emma Stennin
Bush Theatre – Madani Younis, Jon Gilchrist
Chichester Festival Theatre – Daniel Evans, Rachel Tackley
Curve Theatre - Chris Stafford and Nikolai Foster
Derby Theatre – Sarah Brigham
Donmar Warehouse – Josie Rourke, Kate Pakenham
D'Oyly Carte Opera Trust - Ian Martin
Eclipse - Dawn Walton
English Touring Theatre - Richard Twyman, Sophie Watson
Gate Theatre – Ellen McDougall, Jo Royce
Global Creatures - Carmen Pavlovic and Patrick Murphy
Greenwich Theatre - James Haddrell
Hampstead Theatre – Edward Hall, Greg Ripley-Duggan
Harrogate Theatre - David Bown
Headlong – Jeremy Herrin, Alan Stacey
Hofesh Shechter Company – Hofesh Shechter, Henny Finch
HOME, Manchester – Dave Moutrey, Sheena Wrigley
Hull Truck Theatre - Janthi Mills-Ward and Mark Babych
HQ Theatres and Hospitality – Julian Russell
Kneehigh – Mike Shepherd, Ali Robertson
Leicester Curve – Chris Stafford, Nikolai Foster
Lichfield Garrick Theatre – Karen Foster
Liverpool Everyman and Theatre - Gemma Bodinetz and Deborah Aydon
Live Theatre - Jim Beirne, Max Roberts and Wendy Barnfather
London Theatre Consortium – Emma Rees
Lyric Hammersmith – Sean Holmes, Sian Alexander
Lyric Theatre, Belfast - Ciaran McAuley
Manchester Royal Exchange Theatre – Mark Dobson
Marina Theatre - Lee Henderson                                                                               
Mark Goucher Productions Limited – Mark Goucher
Mark Rubinstein Ltd – Mark Rubinstein
Menier Chocolate Factory - David Babani and Tom Siracusa
Mercury Theatre Colchester - Steve Mannix
National Theatre – Rufus Norris, Lisa Burger
National Theatre of Scotland - Jackie Wylie and Brenna Hobson
Neal Street Productions -  Caro Newling
Newcastle Theatre Royal and City Hall – Philip Bernays
New Adventures - Robert Noble
New Wolsey Theatre – Sarah Homes. Peter Rowe
Northern Ballet - Mark Skipper and David Nixon
Northern Stage - Lorne Campbell and Kate Denby
Nottingham Playhouse - Stephanie Sirr, Adam Penford, Giles Croft
Nuffield Southampton Theatres - Sam Hodges and Caroline Routh
Octagon Theatre Bolton - Roddy Gauld and Elizabeth Newman
Old Vic – Matthew Warchus, Kate Varah
Orange Tree Theatre – Paul Miller, Sarah Nicholson
Oxford Playhouse - Louise Chantal
Pitlochry Festival Theatre - John Durnin and Kris Bryce
Playful Productions – Matthew Byam Shaw, Nia Janis, Nick Salmon
Polka Theatre - Peter Glanville, Stephen Midlane, Amanda Cropper       
Rose Theatre Kingston - Jerry Gunn and Robert O'Dowd
Royal Court Theatre – Vicky Featherstone, Lucy Davies
Royal & Derngate - Martin Sutherland and James Dacre
Royal Exchange Theatre – Mark Dobson, Sarah Frankcom
Royal Opera House – Alex Beard, Oliver Mears
Royal Ballet – Kevin O’Hare
Royal Shakespeare Company - Gregory Doran, Catherine Mallyon
Runaway Entertainment - Tristan Baker, Charlie Parsons
Sadler’s Wells, Alistair Spalding
Salisbury Playhouse – Gareth Machin, Sebastian Warrack
Shakespeare’s Globe – Emma Rice, Neil Constable, Michelle Terry
Sheffield Theatres - Dan Bates
Sherman Theatre -  Rachel O'Riordan,  Julia Barry
Soho Theatre - Steve Marmion, Mark Godfrey
SOLT / UK Theatre – Julian Bird, Cassandra Chadderton
Sonia Friedman Productions – Sonia Friedman
Stephen Joseph Theatre - Stephen Freeman
Theatr Clwyd – Tamara Harvey, Liam Evans-Ford
Theatre by the Lake – Conrad Lynch
Theatre Royal Bury St Edmunds - Karen Simpson
Theatre Royal Plymouth - Adrian Vinken                                                                                 
Theatre Royal Stratford East – Nadia Fall, Deborah Sawyerr
The Capitol Horsham - Nick Mowat
The Mill at Sonning - Sally Hughes                                                                                     
The Other Room - Dan Jones, Bizzy Day
The Round Company - Tobias Round
tiata fahodzi - Natalie Ibu       
Told by an Idiot – Paul Hunter, Jenni Grainger
Tricycle Theatre – Indhu Rubasingham, Bridget Kalloushi
Unicorn Theatre – Purni Morell, Anneliese Davidsen
Venue Cymru / Theatr Colwyn – Sarah Ecob
Warwick Arts Centre – Alan Rivett
Watford Palace Theatre - Jamie Arden and Brigid Larmour
West Yorkshire Playhouse – James Brining and Robin Hawkes
Wizard Presents - Danyah Miller, John Miller
Young Vic – David Lan, Lucy Woollatt 

You are in: About us

You may also like