We reveal the six successful applicants to our Digital Fellowships, who will work with us and spatial computing pioneer Magic Leap to discover the future of digital theatre.

The six fellows have been announced for our Magic Leap Fellowships programme, where they will use their different backgrounds in digital storytelling to investigate how new technologies could shape theatre in the future:

  • Thomas Buckley - installation artist working on large scale projection and sculpture
  • Sharon Clark - playwright and the Creative Director of immersive theatre company Raucous
  • Lou Doye - producer and former artistic director of the Theatre Royal Portsmouth
  • James Horn - games artist and Lead Artist at Pixel Toys since 2016
  • Zoë O’Shea - PhD student at Goldsmiths University of London, exploring game design and player psychology
  • James Simpson - specialist in creating 3D visualisations on projects including Miss Saigon and Harry Potter and the Cursed Child
The six fellows at Magic Leap headquarters in Miami

As part of their one-year Fellowship, they will receive expert support from the RSC and Magic Leap technologists, plus from university partners i2 media research Limited at Goldsmiths University of London and the University of Portsmouth, as they explore the future of theatre innovation and what that could mean for audiences in the future. They will take part in a week-long residency at Magic Leap to learn about their technology, before working alongside our own creative teams to explore the full range of theatre, from stage design to audience insight.

Our Director of Digital Development Sarah Ellis said: "The six Fellows bring a huge amount of experience and knowledge to the project and we are very excited to work with them to discover what’s next for audiences in terms of digital theatre experiences and how storytelling can be brought to life."

The results of their work will help shape the next stage of our partnership with Magic Leap. You can follow their journey through their blog series, led by innovation foundation Nesta.

You are in: About us