We have a close relationship with our Associate and Honorary Associate Artists. Our Artistic Director appoints them - inviting artists who have made an outstanding contribution to the life and reputation of our work.

The title is offered as a ‘thank you’ for their commitment and an acknowledgment of an artist’s achievements with the Company. We stay in regular contact with our Associates keeping them up to date with our current work and future plans. We also hope that there will be opportunities for them to come back and work with us again in the future.

Katy Stephens and Chukwudi Iwuji
Associate Artists Katy Stephens and Chukwudi (Chuk) Iwuji, Henry VI Part 2, 2006
Photo by Ellie Kurttz © RSC Browse and license our images


Dame Susie Sainsbury DBE
In recognition of her unparalleled commitment to the company.

Associate Artists

Maria Aberg
Roger Allam
Adjoa Andoh
Alun Armstrong  
Charlotte Arrowsmith
Mike Ashcroft
Desmond Barrit  
Jon Bausor  
Claire Benedict  
Edward Bennett
Alison Bomber
Laurence Boswell 
Stephen Boxer  
David Bradley  
Phillip Breen
Stephen Brimson Lewis 
Jasper Britton
Antony Byrne
David Calder  
Paul Chahidi  
Jon Clark
Kandis Cook
Dominic Cooke CBE 
Richard Cordery  
Adam Cork  
Brian Cox 
Derbhle Crotty  
Niamh Cusack
Sinead Cusack  
Peter De Jersey  
Joe Dixon
Penny Downie
Darrell D'Silva
Noma Dumezweni  
Helen Edmundson
Paul Englishby
Paapa Essiedu
Ray Fearon
Emma Fielding
Polly Findlay
Peter Flannery
Geoffrey Freshwater
Minnie Gale
Alexandra Gilbreath
Julian Glover CBE
Henry Goodman  
David Greig
Mike Gwilym 
Mark Hadfield
Amanda Harris
Alex Hassell  
James Hayes
John Heffernan
Greg Hicks
Owen Horsley
Rob Howell  
Chukwudi Iwuji 
Angus Jackson
Sir Derek Jacobi 
Alex Jennings
Paul Jesson  
Robert Jones 

Jean Kalman 
Dennis Kelly  
Terry King
Estelle Kohler  
Barbara Leigh-Hunt  
Anton Lesser
Katrina Lindsay
Christopher Luscombe 
John Mackay
Forbes Masson
Aidan McArdle  
Richard McCabe  
Tarell Alvin McCraney
Peter McEnery  
Aislin McGuckin
Nancy Meckler
Ben Miles
Hannah Miller
Joseph Millson  
Tim Minchin 
Katie Mitchell
Tim Mitchell 
Lucian Msamati
Jonjo O'Neill
David Oyelowo OBE  
Joanne Pearce
Tom Piper MBE
Mike Poulton
Hugh Quarshie
Mark Quartley
Liz Ranken  
Siobhan Redmond MBE  
Simon Russell Beale CBE  
Ilona Sekacz
Josette Simon OBE
Jonathan Slinger  
Katy Stephens  
Toby Stephens
Juliet Stevenson CBE
Jo Stone-Fewings  
Malcolm Storry  
Geoffrey Streatfeild  
Sir David Suchet CBE
Ayse Tashkiran 
David Tennant  
Michelle Terry   
David Threlfall
Sam Troughton 
James Tucker 
Niki Turner
Matthew Warchus  
Samuel West  
Clive Wood  
John Woolf MBE 
Gary Yershon



Honorary Associate Artists

Bill Alexander  
Michael Attenborough CBE   
John Caird  
Bob Crowley  
Ron Daniels 
Dame Judi Dench
Paola Dionisotti
Chris Dyer 
David Edgar   
Oliver Ford Davies 
Sir Ben Kingsley
Barry Kyle  
Jane Lapotaire  
Dame Helen Mirren  
Christopher Morley 
John Napier 
Richard Nelson  
Adrian Noble  
Sir Trevor Nunn CBE
Michael Pennington
Sir Patrick Stewart OBE  
Dame Janet Suzman 
David Troughton  
Dame Harriet Walter
John Woodvine 

Associate Producer

Thelma Holt CBE

Associate Scholars

Professor James Shapiro
Professor Emma Smith
Professor Ayanna Thompson

You might also like