A Midsummer Night's Dream is a play about love and magic.

All of the information you need about the play is divided into four sections: Story, Characters, Language and Staging.

Then each section has three different levels of information. Choose which level is right for you or simply move between them to find what you need. Here’s a quick guide to help you get started with A Midsummer Night's Dream.

Level 1 - New to the play

Start with level 1 to find:
  • In STORY: A simple overview of the story
  • In CHARACTERS: Basic character descriptions
  • In LANGUAGE: Key language terms
  • In STAGING: Facts about the settings

Level 2 - More detailed information

Start with level 2 to find:
  • In STORY: A timeline of the play
  • In CHARACTERS: A character map exploring relationships
  • In LANGUAGE: Key Scenes with videos
  • In STAGING: Pictures of RSC performances

Level 3 - In-depth study and analysis

Start with level 3 to find:
  • In STORY: Detailed scene-by-scene descriptions
  • In CHARACTERS: PEE grids on central characters including Titania and Puck
  • In LANGUAGE: Detailed breakdowns of themes and imagery
  • In STAGING: Information about performing the play yourself

We need your help

We’d love to know what you think about the Shakespeare Learning Zone. Help us by taking a short survey – it will only take a few minutes and will help us make the Shakespeare Learning Zone even better for everyone.