Access information

We offer audio described performances for visually impaired patrons as well offering touch tours before audio described performances.

Audio described performances
Audio description is a live commentary giving details of all the visual aspects of a production. The commentary is interspersed with the actors' dialogue. Before the play begins you can hear an introduction to the production which gives details of the set, costumes and characters. The commentary is delivered via radio headsets, which are available from the desk in the theatre foyer.

You can also get the introductory notes on CD sent to your home to listen to before you come to the theatre. Please ask for this service when you book your tickets or email access@rsc.org.uk. These CDs are also available to listen to if you come to a performance. Please note that they will not be available for the first four weeks of the production.

Matilda The Musical - access information and introductory notes

Captioned performances
Sunday 15 December 2013, 3pm
Sunday 26 January 2014, 3pm
Thursday 17 April 2014, 7pm
Thursday 15 May 2014, 7pm
Wednesday 30 July 2014, 2pm
Tuesday 14 October 2014, 7pm
Sunday 14 December 14, 3pm

Audio described performances
Saturday 13 April 2013, 2.30pm (Touch Tour 12.30 - 12.55)
Sunday 2 June 2013, 3pm (Touch Tour 1.00 - 1.25)
Thursday 1 August 2013, 7.30pm (Touch Tour 5.30 - 5.55)
Friday 18 October 2013, 7.30pm (Touch Tour 5.30 - 5.55)
Wednesday 11 December 2013, 2.30pm (Touch Tour 12.30 - 12.55)

Audio introductions
Matilda The Musical - listen or read the notes

Richard II - Barbican Theatre, London

Captioned performance
Saturday 11 January 2014, 2pm

Audio described performance
Saturday 18 January 2014, 2pm (Touch tour 12 – 12.30pm)

Access information at the Barbican Theatre:
www.barbican.org.uk/visitor-information/disability-access

 

Contact us & FAQs

Hampstead Box Office
020 7722 9301

Email newsletter

Sign up to email updates for the latest RSC news:

RSC Members

Already an RSC Member or Supporter? Sign in here.

Teaching Shakespeare