Information for the Deaf and hard of hearing

We offer captioned performances for deaf and hearing impaired patrons and a radio system which enhances the stage sound for people with hearing loss. See bottom of page for specific dates and times. 

Captioned performances
We offer captioned performances for all RSC productions. Captioning involves scrolling the text of the play onto an LED screen which is situated near to the stage. This enables people to read the dialogue as the actors speak the words. It is important that when booking for a captioned performance you tell the Box Office so that they can allocate a seat for you where you can see the caption box.

Enhanced stage sound
The Royal Shakespeare Theatre and Swan Theatre has a radio system which gives enhanced stage sound for people who are hard of hearing.

We have four seats available at every performance in the front row of the Royal Shakespeare and Swan Theatre stalls for people with either a visual or a hearing impairment. Please ask the Box Office about the availability of these seats when booking your ticket.

Induction loops
The Royal Shakespeare Theatre and Swan Theatre auditoria are fitted with a loop system as are the cloakroom, Box Office, bar and Stage Door.

Hearing dogs for the Deaf
Dogs can be taken into the auditorium, but please tell the Box Office when booking your seat if you are bringing your dog. Alternatively you can leave your dog with a member of staff in the foyer, but again please let us know.

Captioned Performance Dates

Winter 2013 Season (Stratford-upon-Avon)

Wolf Hall
- RETURNS ONLY
Sat 15 March 2014, 1.30pm

Bring Up The Bodies - RETURNS ONLY
Sat 15 March 2014, 7.30pm

Summer 2014 Season (Stratford-upon-Avon)
Henry IV Part I
Sat 24 May 2014, 1.15pm
Fri 8 August 2014, 7.15pm

Henry IV Part II 
Fri 30 May 2014, 7.15pm
Sat 9 August 2014, 7.15pm

The Two Gentlemen of Verona
Thu 14 August 2014, 1.15p
Thu 21 August 2014, 7.15pm

The Roaring Girl
Thu 24 July 2014, 7.30pm
Sat 20 September 2014, 1.30pm

Arden of Faversham
Tue 17 June 2014, 7.30pm
Wed 27 August 2014, 7.30pm

The White Devil
Tue 9 September 2014, 7.30pm
Sat 4 October 2014, 1.30pm

September 2014 - March 2015 Season (Stratford-upon-Avon)

The Witch of Edmonton
Thu 20 November 2014, 7.30pm

The Christmas Truce
Thu 15 January 2015, 7.15pm
Sat 31 January 2015, 7.15pm

There is a semi-integrated sign language performance of The Christmas Truce on Mon 5 January, 7.15pm.

Love's Labour's Lost
Tue 4 November 2014, 7.15pm
Wed 4 February 2015, 7.15pm

Love's Labour's Won (Much Ado About Nothing)
Wed 12 November 2014, 7.15pm
Thu 5 February 2015, 7.15pm

Oppenheimer
Fri 13 February 2015, 7.30pm
Wed 4 March 2015, 1.30pm

The Shoemaker's Holiday
Thu 8 January 2015, 7.30pm
Sat 21 February 2015, 1.30pm

Contact us & FAQs

Ticket Hotline

0844 800 1110
Mon-Sat, 10am-6pm

Email newsletter

Sign up to email updates for the latest RSC news:

RSC Members

Already an RSC Member or Supporter? Sign in here.

Teaching Shakespeare