Information for Deaf and hard of hearing people

Captioned performances at the RSC

Captioned Performances
We offer captioned performances for all RSC productions. Captioning involves scrolling the text of the play onto an LED screen which is situated near to the stage. This enables people to read the dialogue as the actors speak the words. It is important that when booking for a captioned performance you tell the Box Office so that they can allocate a seat for you where you can see the caption box. See bottom of page for specific dates and times, and links to book tickets.

British Sign Language Interpreted Performances

There are BSL interpreted performances on our upcoming productions of The Jew of Malta (Tuesday 8 September, 7.30pm) and Wendy & Peter Pan (Wednesday 20 January, 7.15pm). Please note public booking opens for Wendy & Peter Pan, and the rest of our newly announced season, on 18 March.

Improving Audibility
The Royal Shakespeare Theatre and Swan Theatre have a radio system and induction loop which give enhanced stage sound for people who are hard of hearing.

We have four seats available at every performance in the front row of the Royal Shakespeare and Swan Theatre stalls for people who are partially sighted or hard of hearing. Please ask the Box Office about the availability of these seats when booking your ticket.

Assistance Dogs
Assistance dogs can be taken into the auditorium, but please tell the Box Office when booking your seat if you are bringing your dog. Alternatively you can leave your dog with a member of staff in the foyer, but again please let us know.

Captioned Performance Dates

September 2014 - March 2015 Season (Stratford-upon-Avon)

Oppenheimer
Friday 13 February, 7.30pm
Wednesday 4 March, 1.30pm

The Shoemaker's Holiday
Saturday 21 February, 1.30pm

March - September 2015 Season (Stratford-upon-Avon)

Death of a Salesman
Friday 1 May, 7.15pm

Othello
Friday 17 July, 7.15pm
Wednesday 12 August, 7.15pm

The Merchant of Venice
Saturday 4 July, 1.15pm
Friday 7 August, 7.15pm

The Jew of Malta
Thursday 14 May, 7.30pm
Wednesday 10 June, 7.30pm
British Sign Language Performance: Tuesday 8 September, 7.30pm

Love's Sacrifice
Friday 29 May, 7.30pm
Tuesday 23 June, 7.30pm

Volpone
Thursday 27 August, 7.30pm
Saturday 12 September, 1.30pm

September 2015 - January 2016 Season (Stratford-upon-Avon)

Henry V
Thursday 8 October, 7.15pm

Wendy & Peter Pan
Wednesday 16 December, 7.15pm
Friday 29 January, 7.15pm
British Sign Language Performance: Wednesday 20 January, 7.15pm

Hecuba
Thursday 15 October, 7.30pm

Love for Love

Wednesday 6 January, 1.30pm
Thursday 21 January, 7.30pm

Queen Anne
Tuesday 22 December, 7.30pm
Wednesday 13 January, 7.30pm

Cambridge Theatre, London

Matilda The Musical
Sunday 12 April, 3pm
Thursday 21 May, 7.30pm

Contact us & FAQs

Ticket Hotline

0844 800 1110
Mon-Sat, 10am-6pm

Email newsletter

Sign up to email updates for the latest RSC news:

RSC Members

Already an RSC Member or Supporter? Sign in here.